Exams 


Exams aren’t the be all and end all. What ever that means. It’s a means to an end. But that should never define what you are.

As a teacher I experienced having to set examiners for form classes. These were to determine what the likely results were of a student GCSEs. The exams where undertaken five years before they were due to sit their final exams. It was utterly ridiculous. Bracketing students into certain categories of a likely achievement was utterly wrong.

I was told when I was 14 that I wasn’t bright enough to sit ‘O’ level maths. It made me angry and more determined to do so. How dare someone tell you that you won’t be able to achieve.

I have always said that you are the person to choose your education. You are in charge of it. Not some idiot mathematics teacher.

So if you didn’t get what you wanted in your exams don’t worry the path might have changed but you can still achieve.

I didn’t do well in my GCSEs but I did pass my maths! I went to college and studied for a diploma in Theology. Then I did my BA Hons degree in Religion and Sociology. Finally ending up at Westminster College Oxford completing a PGCE in secondary RE.

I am not saying it’s easy. It’s hard work. But it’s up to you.

Leave a Reply

