Celebrity

I am struggling with the term “Celebrity” at the moment. I am having a hard time getting my head around what it means to be actually famous. So I thought about looking at the actual definition of the word. It’s origins lie in someone who is honoured or celebrated.

If I am widely known does that make me a celebrity? I am sure people wouldn’t consider someone like the serial killer Dr Harold Shipman as a celebrity when he was alive. So notoriety and knowledge of a particular person doesn’t make them one. The minute that someone is placed on a talent show, broadcast on mainstream television, some think that they are a celebrity.  To me they are not.

Look at what so-called celebrities have achieved. You have auditioned and failed to win. You haven’t achieved anything. I certainly will think again when someone considers themselves to be a celebrity. I will start firstly with what they have given to society and is it worth celebrating.

2 Replies to “Celebrity”

  1. Again’100% agree with last paragraph! Typo Again! ‘know’ should be known? And I take you to task on the “we think ( I certainly do not ) they are a celebrity”. But
    change it to “they think” and you have my Amen!

    1. Thanks Clive. I have changed the points you mentioned. I didn’t think anyone would read it so quickly as I hadn’t posted it on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

